The frustration of reading white pseudo-philosophers

EDIT: I did not hear of the news about the death of the 13-year-old Jain girl when I wrote this. I was on social media tolerating white supremacy and came across the below-mentioned vegan blog.

Sometimes I’m convinced that white vegans (not regular readers I follow too but those who reinforce white supremacy, like in Southern Africa, parts of which are my countries; those who would be in comments draining me further [they already do] if I shared my blog) just throw up anything they rote-learn or once-heard from intersectional vegans to appear pro-intersectional themselves (and other vegans lap it up).

Red flags can range from the word ‘intersectionalism’, to anything really. Take http://bit.ly/2dme7ev as an example, there are dualities everywhere culturally, and morality is often a reflex not a thought-out argument. Most people don’t even have cars or drive trains but yes most people don’t help animals in need or choose not to eat them, or even if they do, they don’t care if a litter [what’s the word for a pack of kittens again?] live or die. It is also true that many humans treat other animals less worse than they treat disabled humans. Simply, it seems easier to walk a dog or feed a cat, or to not eat animals or their food/ovulatings, than create access. I understand Black disabled friends’ anger over this, I do not have anger but

I do find it crap to have white vegans contrast disabled people to non-human animals, although ways in which we are disabled are as varied as there are species.

Critisizing Glover is not an endorsement of Metz’s argument here.

1. White vegans [or insert non-disabled group] would use a disabled concept, transfer it to any situation just coz. When the context they use it in has underlying disability justice issues, they cannot even imagine it does.

2. White vegans like to speak of Jains like they’re experts in Jainism or Jain themselves. There is a prohibition against disabled Jains from becoming monks [monks are allowed to live from charity, I’m not sure if the 2 are related] though a Digambara monk can wear glasses (you wouldn’t know what I’m talking about, a monk was speaking at congress naked [they’re not allowed clothes in that branch], but wearing glasses of course).

I’m not Jain but I’m myopic, so it’s chilled. And in case you don’t know, Jains have nonetheless been part of my culture for 1000s of years, and wrote my epics.

Either way, this illustrates what happens when one treats intersectionality like Kleenex. No reference here to what Kimberley Crenshaw said about intersectionality and kleenex though tbh white vegans may have misunderstood her, if they even know she spoke of that.

thequint2f2016-082fb460f128-a85a-4b84-ac1e-6b14d98a932a2ftarun-sagar-759
the above-mentioned Digambara monk
Leave a Reply

